The Dolpo Box


The Dolpo Box is a photographic subscription proposal of an experimental and poetic kind.

It allows the subscribers to receive through the post, on a monthly basis during a year, a print of an image from the Dolpo Box, the edition of which is limited to one single copy per image. The subscribers, though, never know in advance what their image will be. And so, month after month, they will witness the creation of a hitherto unpublished, original, anachronistically unpredictable and strictly unique portfolio. They agree to entrust its construction to chance – with a little help from the photographer, at a slow pace that is dear to him and on which his perception of photography is found.

The Story of the Dolpo Box

The Dolpo Box is a box that reemerged from a family attic in Belgium around 2013. It contained thousands of slides that I thought I had thrown away. They are images from my first Asian travels, dating back to the middle of the 1990s: Nepal, Pakistan, Ladakh, Kashgar, Uzbekistan, Kirghizistan… A significant part of them come from a solitary journey towards Dolpo, in the north-west of Nepal, in the spring of 1996. In those days I was trying to validate a certain idea of what a “beautiful image” is, that I had inherited from travel photography books. The slides from the Dolpo Box are the ones that I had dismissed because they didn’t seem to meet this rather restricted­ ambition. In which iconoclastic transports had I doomed them to destruction, I no longer know. That was a while ago, in the early 2000s. I probably believed that they would never match the new photographic writing that I had then started to develop.

The fact remains that they survived the project of effacement that I had plotted against them.

Luckily they did because, as my understanding of photography since then and on several occasions radically changed, once I delved into them again I discovered that these images still had a lot to say. Their very pugnacity is what I would like to share here. The way I look at them having shifted and time having elapsed, I found myself enthralled by their power, at once nostalgic and serene. Henceforth I sometimes even see them as documents. And so, these slides that had previously refused to be “beautiful images”, I felt like they could maybe now be considered as photographs.

The subscription

Each print is signed, numbered 1/1 and limited to one copy regardless of its size. It comes with a certificate of authenticity. The picture is a 24 x 16 cm pigmented inkjet print on a Hahnemühle Photo Rag UltraSmooth 305g A4 paper. The first shipping comes with a case to host the portfolio.

The Dolpo Box case


Subscription price for a year is 800 €.

Download the subscription form.

The Dolpo Box


La Dolpo Box est une offre de souscription photographique expérimentale et poétique.

Elle propose aux souscripteurs de recevoir au courrier postal, tous les mois pendant un an, un tirage limité à un exemplaire d’une image issue de la Dolpo Box. Sans toutefois qu’ils sachent à l’avance quelle image ils recevront. Au fil des mois ils verront ainsi se constituer chez eux un portfolio inédit, original, anachroniquement aléatoire et strictement unique. Ils acceptent d’en confier la construction au hasard, aidé par le photographe, dans une lenteur qui lui est chère et fonde son rapport à la photographie.

L’histoire de la Dolpo Box

La Dolpo Box est un carton réapparu vers 2013 dans un grenier familial en Belgique. S’y trouvaient des milliers de diapositives que je pensais avoir jetées. Ce sont des images de mes premiers voyages asiatiques, datant du milieu des années 1990 : Népal, Pakistan, Ladakh, Kashgar, Ouzbékistan, Kirghizstan… Une part significative provient d’un voyage solitaire vers le Dolpo, dans le nord-ouest du Népal, au printemps 1996. À cette époque je cherchais à valider une certaine conception de la « belle image » acquise dans les livres de photographie de voyage. Les diapositives de la Dolpo Box sont celles que j’avais alors écartées parce qu’elles ne me semblaient pas satisfaire cette ambition un peu étriquée. Dans quel transport iconoclaste les avais-je ainsi vouées à la destruction, je n’en sais plus rien. C’était il y a longtemps, au début des années 2000, persuadé sans doute qu’elles ne participeraient jamais de l’écriture nouvelle que je travaillais désormais.

Toujours est-il qu’elles ont résisté au projet d’effacement que j’avais dressé contre elles. C’est heureux car, la photographie ayant depuis radicalement et à plusieurs reprises changé de statut pour moi, j’ai découvert en m’y replongeant que ces images avaient encore beaucoup à dire. C’est cette pugnacité que je souhaite partager ici. Dans le déplacement du regard, dans cet écart de temps, je les ai retrouvées chargées d’un mélange de nostalgie et de sérénité, avec parfois même un air de document. À la faveur de quoi ces diapositives qui avaient jadis refusé d’être de belles images m’ont soudain semblé pouvoir prétendre à être des photographies.

La souscription

Chaque image n’est tirée qu’une seule fois, tous formats confondus. Chaque tirage est signé, numéroté 1/1, et accompagné d’un certificat d’authenticité. L’image est de taille 24 x 16 cm, imprimée en encres pigmentées sur papier Hahnemühle Photo Rag UltraSmooth 305g au format A4. Le premier envoi s’accompagne d’un étui de rangement du portfolio.

Étui de la Dolpo Box


Le prix pour l’année est de 800 €.

Télécharger le bulletin de souscription.